Save Money, Read Classics

Remember when I said I couldn’t see myself getting into reading digital books for the life of me?

Well, I have for the first time realised that the reason why my student money-saving schemes never work  may just be because I buy too many books. This probably would never have occurred to me had I not moved out of my student room and out of my bedroom in my parent’s house, and hadn’t broken my back on hauling my full collection of books to storages and new locations.

Of course, not having a library to carry around with me is unthinkable, so I’ve decided to change my mind and give reading ebooks a go. After a quick google search, it turns out that most classic novels written before a certain date (I believe around 1925) can be downloaded for free since their copyright has expired. Thanks to Amazon’s Free ebooks section, my library on my tablet PC now includes F. Scott Fitzgerald, Jane Austen, Thomas Hardy, Joseph Conrad, Emily and Charlotte Bronte, D.H. Lawrence, Kate Chopin, Tolstoy, and others. Happy reading. More money for wine. This sounds like it can’t possibly go wrong, and I might actually end up a little more “sophisticated” in the process.

But I’m going to need some help from everyone. First, next time you see me anywhere near a bookstore, feel free to smack me on the fingers. Hard.
Second, to anyone who loves reading, any tips for classics I’ve missed out on so far? it’d be much appreciated.

(I did crack on seeing this hardcover edition of Philip Pullman’s fantasy trilogy, which I’ve never read. But technically, that was before I’d decided to start the digital reading. I can’t resist a pretty book….)

Image

Links:
Amazon’s free ebooks
Project Gutenberg

3 thoughts on “Save Money, Read Classics

  1. sjhulett says:

    I really liked the first ‘His Dark Materials’ books, but I was about fifteen when I read them so I was probably a bit starry-eyed about them. As far as classics go, my favourite book in the whole wide world is The Count of Monte Cristo, and that’s probably free, but Dracula, The Strange Tale of Dr. Jekyl and Mr Hyde, Swann’s Way (the first volume of In Search of Lost Time), War of the Worlds and Call of the Wild are all really good 🙂 It sounds like you and I have a similar problem; being a voracious reader really puts a dent in the wallet.

  2. ellynvv says:

    Thank you very much for your suggestions, they are really helpful 🙂 I’ll be sure to get the Count of Monte Cristo at the very least, it’s one of those books I’ve been meaning to catch up with for ages. Dracula and In Search of Lost Time sound interesting too.

    Haha sometimes it’s nice to read things all starry-eyed rather than the usual cynical mode, even if Im not 15 anymore 🙂 I remember reading Call of the Wild at about that age, that was a good one indeed 🙂

  3. sjhulett says:

    You’re welcome, I hope you enjoy them. 🙂 And someone needs to invent a psychological switch so we can turn off our cynicism when we want to!

Leave a Reply

